LaTeX support

Are you writing your thesis, homework or similar in LaTeX? We at OlyNet e.V. are now also offering LaTeX-Support: just write us your question and we’ll help you solve it. You can contact us through facebook or by mailing us your questions to latex-support@olynet.eu”.

3D Printer

OlyNet now has its’ own 3D printer!

Further details on the printer and our 3D printer projects will follow soon..

WLAN security gap KRACK

A vulnerability affecting all wireless networks was discovered recently. The vulnerability was found in the encryption protocol WPA2, which is the standard encryption protocol used in wireless LAN networks. This is also why this vulnerabilty affects almost any WLAN device (Smartphones, IoT-Devices, Laptops, Personal Computers, etc.) and operating system (iOS, Windows, Linux, Android, etc.). The vulnerability enables a third person to read the wireless communication in plain text, although this communication appears to be encrypted. This implies: unless you are using other security mechanisms (such as HTTPS or VPN while surfing), your data transmitted through a WLAN network may be intercepted and read by a third person.

 

The manufacturers are currently working on security patches for their systems. It is of utmost importance to check for these updates and install them. Many devices are configured to check for these updates automatically.

 

We recommend:

– Check for security updates and/or make sure that these are being installed automatically
– If updates were installed, reboot your device
– Use a VPN if you are transferring sensitive data
– When transmitting sensitive data through your browser make sure that your connection is encrypted by additional means (“Https” or the lock icon appear in your address bar)
– However, do *NOT* change the WLAN encryption to an older standard such as WPA oder WEP as these are insecure.

If you have questions or issues please do not hesitate to contact us during our opening hours or per e-mail.

New router price

Due to lower purchase prices we can now offer you fully-equipped routers for the new price of 30 Euro, starting this new academic term Fall 2017/18.

 

Just come and visit us during our consulting hours!

Newbie in our server cluster

May I introduce: *drum roll*….

Our newest server member is a nice little 1U machine manufactured by HP, a ProLiant SE316M1. This third VM host adds to our web cluster and will host various virtual machines, for instance a third database machine.

When we will incorporate the server into our rack, we are planning a major rebuild and restructuring of the rack and all components. We also want to set the course for our infrastructure to handle all the load and be more reliable in the future.

Especially our OlydorfApp, which will reach a beta phase in the upcoming weeks, will benefit from this update. Since OlyNet is a non-profit organization run by students only, there is not a lot of money for new infrastructure or hardware. That’s why we decided a while ago that we will utilize refurbished hardware, which we can afford. But as these systems show a higher risk of failing, we are trying to build redundancies everywhere.

Some day, we will describe the environment composing our web cluster in more detail in a separate article. Until then, you may already experience our infrastructure by using our app.

Top

3D-Drucker

Seit Kurzem haben wir beim OlyNet e.V. auch einen 3D-Drucker!

Mehr Informationen zum Drucker selbst und Druckprojekten folgen..

Veröffentlicht in Allgemein, News

W-Lan Sicherheitslücke KRACK

Kürzlich wurde eine Sicherheitslücke bekannt, die das W-Lan selbst betrifft. Es handelt sich hierbei um eine Lücke im Verschlüsselungsprotokoll WPA2, welches die Standardverschlüsselung für W-Lan ist. Aus diesem Grund betrifft diese Sicherheitslücke fast ausnahmslos alle W-Lan-fähigen Geräte (Smartphones, IoT-Devices, Laptops, Tower, Router, usw.) und auch alle Betriebssysteme (iOS, Windows, Linux, Android, usw.). Die Sicherheitslücke sorgt dafür das die Kommunikation, die normalerweise über das W-Lan verschlüsselt werden würden, nunmehr entschlüsselt werden kann. Das heisst: Sofern keine weiteren Sicherheitsmaßnahmen (z.B. beim Surfen: HTTPS oder VPN) verwendet werden, kann jede Kommunikation die per W-Lan erfolgt von einem Dritten abgefangen und mitgelesen werden kann.

Die Hersteller der Geräte und Betriebssysteme bemühen sich derzeit darum diese Sicherheitslücke zu schliessen und stellen Updates bereit. Es ist daher von höchster Wichtigkeit auf aktuelle Sicherheitspatches zu achten und diese zu installieren. Viele Systeme sind „per default“ so konfiguriert, dass automatisch nach Updates gesucht wird.

Unsere Empfehlung lautet:
– Schaut nach Sicherheitsupdates bzw. kontrolliert ob diese automatisch installiert werden
– Wenn Updates erfolgt sind müssen die Geräte neugestartet werden
– Nutzt bei sensiblen Daten ein VPN
– Achtet beim Versenden von sensiblen Daten über den Browser darauf das ihr eine verschlüsselte Verbindung nutzt („Https“ oder Schlosssymbol in der Adressleiste)
– Stellt aber auf keinen Fall auf eine ältere Verschlüsselungsmethode wie WPA oder WEP, da diese noch unsicherer sind

Bei Fragen stehen wir per E-Mail oder in den Sprechstunden zur Verfügung.

Veröffentlicht in Allgemein, News

Neuer Preis für Router

Aufgrund gesunkener Einkaufspreise könnt ihr ab dem WS 2017/2018 eingerichtete Router zum neuen Preis von 30 Euro bei uns erwerben.

 

Kommt einfach in einer unserer Sprechstunden vorbei – wir freuen uns auf Euch!

 

Euer OlyNet Team

Veröffentlicht in Allgemein, News

Neue HA-Speicherinfrastruktur: Ceph

Am vergangenen Wochenende haben wir mal wieder fleißig in unserem kleinen Rechenzentrum gearbeitet, es stand der lang ersehnte große Umbau unserer Speicherkomponenten an. Wie ihr euch vielleicht erinnert haben wir bisher NFS eingesetzt, um Netzwerkspeicher für interne Dienste zur Verfügung zu stellen. Dieses Setup hat uns aber nie wirklich zufrieden gestellt, weder hinsichtlich der Ausfallsicherheit, noch der Performance. Continue reading “Neue HA-Speicherinfrastruktur: Ceph” »

Veröffentlicht in News, Projekte

Neue Tools zur Softwareentwicklung

Im OlyNet haben sich Studenten zusammengeschlossen, um gemeinsam an Hardware, Elektronik und Software zu basteln. Wir setzen Infrastruktur auf, schrauben an Hardware, diskutieren Verbesserungen und setzen neue Projekte um, z.B. unseren Routerverkauf, die Sprechstunden oder auch Software zum internen und externen Gebrauch.

Gerade die Softwareentwicklung ist heutzutage mehr als nur das Schreiben von Code, was die meisten Studenten nur oberflächlich im Studium lernen. Neben automatisierten Tests und Builds gehören auch die Selbstorganisation und die Steuerung eines ganzen Teams zum Alltag eines Entwicklers. In vielen Softwareteams hat sich Scrum als Methode der agilen Softwareentwicklung etabliert. Continue reading “Neue Tools zur Softwareentwicklung” »

Veröffentlicht in Allgemein, News Getagged mit: , , ,